Grunting at Work

20120826-103814.jpg

Yesterday I had the honor of being a part of a school makeover. Me, my children, my church, and other fellow community members went to clean up, fix, paint, and upgrade classrooms. I had been excited for days about this project. (Above is part of the bathroom I painted yay!)

Yet when I got there and got my assignment my instinct was to complain.

“Your assignment: Paint the bathrooms and wash out all the paintbrushes and rollers.

My instincts said paint the bathroom? Wash the paintbrushes? How is that going to help change the school? And then I quickly, almost automatically reminded myself that soon the 1st day of school will be here and students, parents, and teachers are going to walk in the school and be amazed! That even though washing all those paint brushes was hard work for me and my team, we were opening the eyes of our community as they drove by watching us fix up the school. The message was subtle but what we were saying through our actions was:

“We care about our community. We value education. We want the best for our children, schools, families, and communities

You see, none of that work we did was about us. It was about changing our small local world; changing the lives of kids in our community.

So when times get tough and your working UNBELIEVABLY hard to accomplish something and you start getting tired and frustrated, remind yourself of the bigger picture. Ask yourself, “Who is going to be effected by what I’m doing? What message am I sending? Years from now what will people say? Then imagine your results. Imagine the possibilities of what will be because of what you are doing.

Keep working hard. Keep changing the world, change your world in the most positive ways.

God Bless You all!

About greatnessnu

Hi, I’m Cassandra! I am an avid student of life and life student. I love learning and encouraging others to never give up! I am also a mother of 4, a wife, and writer Please feel free to check out my blog, leave a comment, or connect with me by email. I look forward to learning, growing, and loving life with you! And remember your best days are ahead of you and not behind you! So get ready!!!!
This entry was posted in Keep Going and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

